Saraki reshuffles Senate committees

President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, on Tuesday, announced the movement of chairmen and deputies of the various standing committees in the upper chamber.
Saraki, who made the announcement at the end of Tuesday’s plenary, said the move is to strengthen the institution of the Senate and ensure that proper oversight functions are carried out.
According to Saraki, Committee on Trade and Investment will now be headed by Sabo Mohammed. Interior committee will be led by Andy Uba, while Public Accounts is now headed by Matthew Urhoghide.
Culture and Tourism is to be headed by Raji Razaki and Local Content chairman is Adeola Olamilekan. Cooperation and Integration is now chaired by Stella Oduah, while Capital Market Development is now headed bBukar Mustapha.
Others are Mohammed Sani, vice chairman, committee on Trade and Investment; Ademola Adeleke, vice chairman, committee on Communications; Godswill Akpabio, vice chairman, committee on Local Content; and Babajide Omoworare, vice chairman, committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters.
The last reshuffling was in July, 2017, when ‎Kabir Marafa became the chairman of the Petroleum Resources Committee (Downstream) ‎and Oluremi Tinubu, was moved from Women Affairs Committee to the Committee on the Environment.
‎Sulieman Hukunyi was moved to National Identity Management committee as chairman. ‎Adamu Aliero was moved to Aviation as chairman, while Hope Uzodinma got Customs. Barau Jibril got Tertiary Institutions and Binta Masi got Women Affairs.
The Public Procurement Committee got Joshua Dariye as its chairman, while James Manager, who was chairman of the Committee on Power was moved to the Solid Minerals committee.
Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, who was chairman, Committee on Information and National Orientation, was moved to the committee on Power, while Adokwe Suleiman was named chairman, Information committee.
Legislative Compliance committee had Babajide Omoworare, who used to head the Rules and Business Committee, as it’s chairman, while the latter was headed by Baba Garbai. The Federal Character committee had Senator Tijani Kaura as its chairman.
POLITICS 3381762376344533550

Post a Comment


Home item